How much does daycare insurance cost in Florida? (2026)

Reviewed by Jason Wootton — licensed P&C Insurance Agent (NPN 7694718) Verify ↗
Edited by Justin Marks · Updated September 2026 · Disclosures ↓

Daycare insurance pricing in Florida is shaped by the same state-specific bureau loss-cost filings that govern every commercial policy issued in Florida. Below: the most-recent Florida filings affecting daycare operations, cited to the regulator or bureau filings they came from — primary-source, government-held pricing records. Read the full national context on the Daycare cost guide.

Why Florida daycare insurance costs differ from the national average

Florida daycare and child-care-center insurance is priced against a distinctly state-specific backdrop rather than a single national benchmark. Operators here answer to the Department of Children and Families' licensing framework under Florida Statutes §402.305, which sets mandatory staff-to-child ratios and Level 2 background screening that directly feed underwriting. Layered on top are Florida's subsidized-care insurance mandates, a high-volume litigation environment, and coastal catastrophe exposure — factors that push center premiums away from the national average.

  • Florida's mandatory liability-insurance floor for subsidized (School Readiness) providers — Any Florida child-care provider that participates in the state's subsidized School Readiness Program must carry general liability insurance of at least $100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 in general aggregate under Florida Statutes §1002.88. Informal providers may instead maintain a homeowner's policy with a business rider at those same limits. Because these are contractual minimums tied to state funding, many Florida centers buy to these limits (or higher) even when a smaller policy might otherwise suffice, setting a firm premium baseline.
  • Level 2 background screening and abuse & molestation exposure — Section 402.305 requires every staff member to clear Level 2 screening — fingerprint-based criminal-history checks plus searches of the sexual-offender and child-abuse-and-neglect registries. Abuse and molestation claims are the signature severe exposure for child care, yet a standard commercial general liability policy excludes intentional acts and professional errors, so carriers price abuse/molestation and professional (supervision) liability through separate endorsements or sublimits. That specialized coverage is one of the largest single components of a Florida daycare's premium.
  • State-mandated staff-to-child ratios and center capacity — Florida law fixes minimum supervision ratios — one staff member for every four infants (birth through 1 year), one per six one-year-olds, scaling to one per 25 for school-age children — under §402.305(4). The younger a center's enrollment skews, the more staff it must employ, which raises both payroll-driven workers'-compensation exposure and the head-count that general-liability underwriters use to rate the risk. Centers with infant rooms therefore tend to see higher premiums than those serving only older children.
  • Florida's litigation climate and coastal catastrophe exposure — Florida's civil-liability environment is a recognized rating factor; the Legislature's 2023 tort-reform law, CS/CS/HB 837, shortened the negligence statute of limitations from four years to two and moved the state to a modified comparative-negligence standard, changes aimed at Florida's high lawsuit volume. At the same time, a center's building and contents face the state's hurricane and windstorm risk, which elevates the commercial-property portion of a Business Owner's Policy. Together, liability and catastrophe exposure keep Florida center premiums above those in lower-risk states.

Florida-specific FAQs

Does Florida legally require my daycare to carry liability insurance?

It depends on how you operate. Florida's core licensing statute, 402.305, does not impose a universal liability-insurance mandate on every licensed facility. However, any provider that participates in the state's subsidized School Readiness Program must carry at least $100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 in general aggregate coverage under 1002.88 (informal providers may substitute a homeowner's policy with a business rider at the same limits). Separately, your landlord, lender, or franchise agreement will almost always require coverage.

Why is abuse and molestation coverage such a big part of my premium?

Abuse and molestation is the highest-severity claim a child-care operation can face, and a standard commercial general liability policy excludes intentional acts, so carriers provide it through a separately underwritten endorsement or sublimit. Florida's mandatory Level 2 background screening under 402.305 helps manage the risk but does not eliminate the exposure, so this coverage remains a significant, separately priced cost.

Do my center's staff-to-child ratios affect what I pay for insurance?

Yes, indirectly. Florida's ratios in 402.305 require more staff for younger children (one adult per four infants versus one per 25 school-age children), so infant-heavy centers carry larger payrolls and higher head counts. That raises both workers'-compensation exposure and the enrollment/staff figures general-liability underwriters use to rate your policy.

Sources for Florida-specific content above:
  1. Florida Statutes §402.305 — Licensing standards; child care facilities
  2. Florida Statutes §1002.88 — School Readiness Program provider requirements (insurance mandate)
  3. Florida Department of Children and Families — Child Care Laws and Requirements
  4. Florida Senate — CS/CS/HB 837 (2023) Civil Remedies
  5. Insurance Information Institute — Commercial General Liability Insurance

Recent rate-filing activity — 8 state filings across 1 commercial line

Commercial carriers can't charge whatever they want — each state's Department of Insurance must approve loss-cost filings before they take effect. These are primary-source, government-held records available on SERFF Filing Access. Cited below: the most-recent active filings affecting daycare operations, each cited to the regulator or bureau filing it came from.

Line State Overall change Effective Filing
WC FL filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) Oct 1, 2026 Filing #FWC 26-037813
WC FL filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) Oct 1, 2026 Filing #FWC 26-035696
WC FL Overall -6.9% adjustment to voluntary rate level Jan 1, 2026 Filing #FLOIR-2025-11-17-WC
WC FL filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) Mar 1, 2025 Filing #FWC 25-003645
WC FL filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) Feb 20, 2025 Filing #FWC 24-108799
WC FL filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) Feb 20, 2025 Filing #FWC 25-002949
WC FL filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) Feb 3, 2025 Filing #FWC 24-108909
WC FL filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) Feb 3, 2025 Filing #FWC 24-104042

Source: SERFF Filing Access (filingaccess.serff.com) — the official public-records interface for state Department of Insurance filings. Loss-cost changes shown are the overall bureau-wide change in each state; the actual impact on your quote depends on your class code, payroll, experience modifier, and carrier-specific loss-cost multiplier (LCM). Get a quote for your exact numbers.

National context — Daycare insurance overview

The defining daycare coverage isn't general liability — it's abuse & molestation (SAM). A standard general liability policy carries the ISO abuse-or-molestation exclusion, so coverage for a child sexual-or-physical-abuse allegation against staff or a volunteer must be bought back via a SAM endorsement — usually sublimited, and no daycare should operate without it. After that come the everyday exposures: general liability for a child injured on premises, professional liability for alleged negligent or improper supervision, plus property, workers' comp, and auto for field trips.

As an industry-typical estimate, a small daycare runs roughly $1,500–$6,000+/year across general liability with a SAM endorsement, professional liability, commercial property, and payroll-rated workers' compensation — more for a larger center, infant care, or transportation. No insurance bureau publishes daycare premiums, so every dollar here is an estimate; each coverage fact is sourced to a named authority (III, IRMI, CDC). Use the calculator below, then get a real quote in 5 minutes.

National benchmark figures

Published cost ranges for Daycare insurance — useful as a national baseline against which the Florida filings above signal local direction.

Abuse & molestation
Bought back by endorsement
A standard GL carries the ISO abuse-or-molestation exclusion, so SAM coverage must be added by endorsement — usually sublimited, never optional for a daycare. IRMI abuse/molestation exclusion
A&M claim severity
Asbestos-like
Triple-I notes child sexual-abuse claims can rival asbestos — reaching back to decades-old policies, with 17+ states extending statutes of limitations. III on abuse claims
Child injury scale
ED visit every 4 sec
CDC: injury is the #1 cause of death among U.S. children, with an emergency-department injury visit about every 4 seconds — the premises exposure GL responds to. CDC VitalSigns
Field-trip auto
Vans + HNOA
Owned vans need commercial auto; staff driving their own cars for transport need hired & non-owned auto — neither is covered by GL or personal auto. III business vehicle
Industry scale
$13,128 avg price
Child Care Aware puts the 2024 national average annual price of child care at $13,128 (up ~29% since 2020) — the revenue base insurance is written against. Child Care Aware

Industry-typical market ranges (national)

Sourced from III, NCCI, ISO, NAIC, BLS, FMCSA, FDA, NRA — government and bureau publications, not from our quote form

Coverage lines a daycare typically carries (industry-typical estimates):

State licensing and staff-to-child ratio rules vary widely and are both a rating and an eligibility factor.

For Florida-specific direction, see the filed-rate table above.

Industry context — what published research says about Daycare coverage

  • Abuse & molestation is the defining daycare exposure. Standard general liability excludes it via the ISO abuse-or-molestation exclusion, so a daycare must add a SAM endorsement — and claims can rival asbestos in severity, reaching back to old policies. III on abuse claims.
  • Premises injury is the everyday claim. A child slipping, falling, or being hurt on-site is the signature general-liability exposure — CDC data shows how frequent childhood injury is. CDC VitalSigns.
  • Supervision is a professional-liability exposure. Alleged improper or negligent supervision, or failure to follow a care plan, is a professional-liability claim distinct from a premises injury. III small-business basics.
  • Field trips add auto exposure. Owned vans need commercial auto and staff using personal cars for transport need hired & non-owned auto — a gap GL and personal policies leave open. III business vehicle.

How to lower your daycare insurance cost

General levers that apply nationally — Florida operators may also have state-specific levers (e.g. non-subscriber WC, multi-jurisdiction permit consolidation).

Background-check all staff + written A&M prevention
Fingerprint/criminal screening of every staffer and volunteer is the single biggest lever on abuse-coverage insurability and price. IRMI abuse/molestation exclusion.
Enforce a two-adult ('no one-on-one') rule
Documented policies that no staffer is ever alone/unobserved with a child reduce both abuse and false-allegation exposure. CDC ECE safety.
Document safety training + CPR/first-aid
Formal, logged staff training lowers injury frequency and demonstrates risk control to underwriters. CDC outdoor safety.
Control drop-off / pickup
Authorized-pickup lists, sign-in/out logs, and access control cut abduction and liability exposure. CDC ECE safety.
Stay within licensing + ratio compliance
Keeping within state staff-to-child ratios and current license standing is a rating and eligibility factor. CDC ECE safety.
Bundle GL + property into a BOP
Combining general liability and property in a BOP is typically cheaper than standalone policies for a small center. III BOP.
Raise deductibles + keep a clean record
A higher property/GL deductible plus a sustained claim-free history and documented playground maintenance earn better renewals. III small-business basics.

Get your actual Florida quote in 5 minutes

The data above is regulator-filed direction. Your actual Florida quote depends on class code, payroll, experience modifier, and the LCM each carrier files.

Get a free Florida quote → 📞 Call 1-833-505-2594

More Florida rate-filing detail

Get a real Florida quote for daycare

The data above shows the regulator-filed direction for Florida. For your actual quote — based on payroll, experience modifier, and the LCM each carrier files — request a free quote in under 90 seconds.

Get a free Florida quote →

Related guides

Sources cited (national context above)

  1. Abuse or Molestation (Sexual Abuse) Exclusion — International Risk Management Institute (IRMI), 2024
  2. How Underwriters Can Prepare for Child Sexual-Abuse Claims — Insurance Information Institute (III), 2024
  3. Commercial General Liability Insurance — Insurance Information Institute (III), 2024
  4. What Does a Businessowners Policy (BOP) Cover? — Insurance Information Institute (III), 2024
  5. Workers' Compensation Insurance — Insurance Information Institute (III), 2024
  6. Business Vehicle Insurance (field-trip auto / HNOA) — Insurance Information Institute (III), 2024
  7. Employment Practices Liability Insurance — Insurance Information Institute (III), 2024
  8. Safety in Early Care and Education — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), 2024
  9. Outdoor Play and Safety for Children in ECE — Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), 2024
  10. Child Care Price Landscape 2024 — Child Care Aware of America, 2024
Go deeper on Workers' Compensation
📘 Educational, not advice. This state-specific cost page is general educational content reviewed by Jason Wootton, our licensed P&C Insurance Agent (NPN 7694718). Bureau-filed loss-cost changes do not directly equal carrier rate changes — your final quote depends on class code, payroll, experience modifier, schedule credits/debits, and the carrier's LCM. For actual numbers, get a real quote.
An unhandled error has occurred. Reload 🗙