How much does freight broker insurance cost in Florida? (2026)
Every dollar figure on this page is a statutory coverage requirement or a filed industry benchmark — not the premium you will pay. What you actually pay depends on your payroll, revenue, claims history, limits and carrier.
Freight Broker insurance pricing in Florida is shaped by the same state-specific bureau loss-cost filings that govern every commercial policy issued in Florida. Below: the most-recent Florida filings affecting freight broker operations, cited to the regulator or bureau filings they came from — primary-source, government-held pricing records. Read the full national context on the Freight Broker cost guide.
Recent rate-filing activity — 8 state filings across 1 commercial line
Commercial carriers can't charge whatever they want — each state's Department of Insurance must approve loss-cost filings before they take effect. These are primary-source, government-held records available on SERFF Filing Access. Cited below: the most-recent active filings affecting freight broker operations, each cited to the regulator or bureau filing it came from.
| Line | State | Overall change | Effective | Filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WC | FL | filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) | Oct 1, 2026 | Filing #FWC 26-037813 |
| WC | FL | filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) | Oct 1, 2026 | Filing #FWC 26-035696 |
| WC | FL | Overall -6.9% adjustment to voluntary rate level | Jan 1, 2026 | Filing #FLOIR-2025-11-17-WC |
| WC | FL | filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) | Mar 1, 2025 | Filing #FWC 25-003645 |
| WC | FL | filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) | Feb 20, 2025 | Filing #FWC 24-108799 |
| WC | FL | filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) | Feb 20, 2025 | Filing #FWC 25-002949 |
| WC | FL | filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) | Feb 3, 2025 | Filing #FWC 24-108909 |
| WC | FL | filing on record (magnitude not publicly disclosed) | Feb 3, 2025 | Filing #FWC 24-104042 |
Source: SERFF Filing Access (filingaccess.serff.com) — the official public-records interface for state Department of Insurance filings. Loss-cost changes shown are the overall bureau-wide change in each state; the actual impact on your quote depends on your class code, payroll, experience modifier, and carrier-specific loss-cost multiplier (LCM). Get a quote for your exact numbers.
Scope note: the filings tabulated above reflect NCCI class 9586 (Barber/Beauty Services) as an illustrative example of WC filing structure. Freight brokers' actual WC class is NCCI 8810 (Clerical Office Employees NOC) and NCCI 8742 (Salespersons or Collectors — Outside) — freight brokers are intermediaries arranging shipments, NOT motor carriers; they classify under clerical/sales codes rather than any trucking class (7219/7228). Freight brokers must carry FMCSA broker authority + BMC-84 surety bond ($75K) per federal law, but their WC exposure is office-based not driver-based. The per-state ranges shown reflect cross-class WC mechanics rather than 8810/8742 rates specifically. Confirm your specific class-code mapping at quote with your underwriter.
National context — Freight Broker insurance overview
Freight broker insurance is a completely different product set from driver/carrier insurance. Brokers don't operate trucks — they connect shippers with carriers, taking a percentage. The coverage stack reflects that: a federally-required FMCSA $75,000 BMC-84 surety bond (or BMC-85 trust fund), General Liability for office operations, Contingent Cargo + Contingent Auto for when a carrier's coverage falls short, Errors & Omissions for booking mistakes, and increasingly Cyber Liability for the rising tide of broker-carrier fraud schemes.
Typical total annual cost: $1,500-$5,000 in insurance premium plus $300-$1,000 for the BMC-84 bond (TIA 2024). The bond is the gating requirement — FMCSA won't issue or renew your MC# without it. Every figure on this page cites a named external publication.
National benchmark figures
Published cost ranges for Freight Broker insurance — useful as a national baseline against which the Florida filings above signal local direction.
Industry-typical market ranges (national)
Sourced from III, NCCI, ISO, NAIC, BLS, FMCSA, FDA, NRA — government and bureau publications, not from our quote form
Market ranges from published industry sources (annual):
- FMCSA BMC-84 surety bond ($75,000 face value): typically $300-$1,000/year in premium for brokers with good personal credit, $1,500-$3,000 for marginal credit (TIA 2024). Alternative: BMC-85 trust fund (fully-funded $75K cash) — no premium but ties up capital.
- General Liability for broker office operations: typically $400-$1,000/year
- Contingent Cargo (pays when carrier's cargo policy doesn't): typically $500-$2,000/year for $100K limit
- Contingent Auto Liability (pays when carrier's auto policy doesn't): typically $300-$1,000/year
- Errors & Omissions (E&O) for booking errors: typically $500-$2,500/year for $1M limit
- Cyber Liability (broker-carrier fraud + data breach): typically $600-$2,000/year for $1M limit
Most brokers run total insurance cost (excluding bond) at $1,500-$5,000/year. Adding bond premium brings total to $1,800-$6,000/year. Compared to drivers ($9K-$15K/yr for a single semi), brokers operate on a much lower insurance overhead — though revenue per shipment is also lower.
For Florida-specific direction, see the filed-rate table above.
Industry context — what published research says about Freight Broker coverage
- FMCSA $75,000 financial-responsibility requirement (49 CFR §387.307): every property broker must maintain $75,000 in either a surety bond (Form BMC-84) or trust fund (Form BMC-85). The 2013 MAP-21 Act raised the requirement from $10,000 to $75,000 — drove a small-broker shakeout. Required for MC# issuance + renewal. FMCSA.
- BMC-84 vs BMC-85: BMC-84 is a SURETY BOND issued by a bonding company — pay a premium ($300-$1,000/yr typical), they cover the $75K obligation. BMC-85 is a TRUST FUND — broker deposits full $75K with a trustee + earns no return on it. Most brokers choose BMC-84. TIA.
- Broker-carrier fraud rising: the past 3 years have seen significant increase in fraudulent carrier identity theft + double-brokering schemes targeting freight brokers. Cyber Liability + email-fraud (BEC) coverage have moved from optional to essential for active brokers. III.
- Contingent vs Primary: the broker doesn't OWN the cargo or operate the truck — the carrier does. Broker's Contingent Cargo coverage only pays IF the carrier's primary cargo coverage fails or is insufficient. Similar for Contingent Auto Liability. These products fill specific gaps + don't replace carrier-side coverage. IRMI.
- E&O scope: covers broker booking errors: dispatching to the wrong shipper, mis-quoting freight rates, mis-classifying hazmat, choosing an under-insured carrier, accepting fraudulent carrier credentials. One large E&O claim ($100K+ typical for serious errors) can wipe out a small broker. IRMI E&O.
How to lower your freight broker insurance cost
General levers that apply nationally — Florida operators may also have state-specific levers (e.g. non-subscriber WC, multi-jurisdiction permit consolidation).
Get your actual Florida quote in 5 minutes
The data above is regulator-filed direction. Your actual Florida quote depends on class code, payroll, experience modifier, and the LCM each carrier files.
Get a free Florida quote → 📞 Call 1-833-505-2594More Florida rate-filing detail
- All Florida commercial rate filings (every line, every recent filing) — the broader rate-data view for Florida
- Rate filings by state — directory of all 47+ states with active filings
- National Rate Change Tracker — every filing across every state, sortable
Get a real Florida quote for freight broker
The data above shows the regulator-filed direction for Florida. For your actual quote — based on payroll, experience modifier, and the LCM each carrier files — request a free quote in under 90 seconds.
Get a free Florida quote →Related guides
Sources cited (national context above)
- Freight broker insurance overview — Insurance Information Institute (III), 2024
- TIA broker bond + insurance guidance — Transportation Intermediaries Association (TIA), 2024
- Broker financial responsibility filings (49 CFR 387.307) — Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), 2024
- Contingent Cargo + E&O + Cyber glossary entries — International Risk Management Institute (IRMI), 2024
